Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC)

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC)

7 members

Group Profile

Private group. To request membership, click Join and your request will be reviewed by the group manager.

With 10 institutions strongly bound by the sound principles of quality and integrity in academics and excellence in athletics, the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference is in its 28th year of competition during the 2008-2009 academic year.

The MAAC was founded in 1980 by six charter members: the U.S. Military Academy, Fairfield University, Fordham University, Iona College, Manhattan College and Saint Peter’s College. Competition followed one year later in the fall of 1981 with members competing in the sports of men’s cross country and men’s soccer. On January 2, 1982, Army traveled to Iona for the first MAAC men’s basketball game and the MAAC story had begun.

Today, Conference members include: Canisius College, Fairfield University, Iona College, Loyola College (Md.), Manhattan College, Marist College, Niagara University, Rider University, Saint Peter’s College, and Siena College. In addition, associate members Mount St. Mary’s University, Providence College, Saint Joseph’s University, Virginia Military Institute and Wagner College compete in men’s lacrosse. St. Francis (N.Y.) College, Villanova University and Wagner College are all associate members of the MAAC Women’s Water Polo League. The MAAC will support 24 sports and championships during the 2008-2009 academic year.

About this Group

  • Created: November 10, 2008
  • Type: Conference Group
  • Members: 7