Answers

 

Derek D

Marketing Analyst at ScreenTek Inc. (notebook screen supplier)

see all my questions

Anyone know what /instmsg/aliaes/user.name is?

I sent an email to a major corporation, and twice since then I've seen them attempt to come to this page listed below. It's a 404 page when they visit.

The URL they try to access would look like this: http://www.screentekinc.com/instmsg/aliases/derek.dickson

Anyone have any idea what that is?

posted January 30, 2008 in Computers and Software | Closed

Share This Question

Share This

Good Answers (1)

 

Brian M

Jack of Many Trades

see all my answers

Best Answers in: Computers and Software (2), Blogging (1), E-Commerce (1)

This was selected as Best Answer

The format /instmsg/aliases/ is from Microsoft's Messenger. What you are seeing is basically badly behaved software making web calls to look for resources. These hits are not typically initiated by the user at all, it is their Microsoft Office/MSN Messenger making the request.

Links:

posted January 30, 2008

More Answers (2)

 

Jason V

IT Professional experienced in technical leadership

see all my answers

Best Answers in: Computers and Software (1), Software Development (1)

It looks like it has to do with Microsoft Exchange and instant messaging. Just do a google search for instmsg and you will find multiple websites and newsgroup posts referencing this being in the web logs.

posted January 30, 2008

 

Harald F

Senior Consultant at Ciber Norway

see all my answers

It's the microsoft instant messenger trying to find information about
you, it's mostly harmless. The reason that it contains your username is
that it's based on your email address, so to find IM details for
you, it does a PROPFIND on the url
http://www.screentekinc.com/instmsg/aliases/derek.dickson

It means that someone got email from you, and looked to see if you had
compatible instant messaging as well. Microsoft Exchange can actually do this lookup automatically.
this check automatically, I'm not sure).

posted January 30, 2008